Week 6: Fun with Kamut

Last week I didn’t even make it to the grocery store, but I did try something new: making bread with Kamut flour.
Six months ago, I didn’t even know there was such a thing as Kamut, but I saw a segment about it on the Fusion Grain Cooking show (which I have mentioned before). That show got me interested in trying some new grains, and I bought some Kamut berries at the health food store back in November. And there they have sat ever since, along with my good intentions.
So finally last week, after we ran out of bread, I decided that now was the time to try it out. Don’t ask me how it worked out that I didn’t have the energy to go grocery shopping, but I had the energy to make bread. Sometimes it just works that way.
Anyway, here’s a look at the berries.

They mostly look like plumper, yellower wheat berries. I ran them through my NutriMill grinder just like I normally do with regular wheat berries. I used this recipe with the following modifications.
1. The recipe says that the resultant loaf is sweet enough that there’s no need to add any “honey or other fancy ingredients.” Well, I am inclined to disagree that it is sweet enough without any fanciness added. I don’t think it needs much, but I added 2 tablespoons of sugar to the yeast and water mixture.
2. The recipe calls for 2 tablespoons of salt. That makes for a pretty salty loaf. While it was a nice salty-sweet combo when eaten with blackberry jam, the bread turned out to be a little too salty for eating alone or on a sandwich. Halving the salt to 1 tablespoon makes a much mellower flavor.
3. I did not knead this dough for 20 minutes. Maybe 8 minutes at the most. I used a light touch, added more flour as needed, and slammed it down maybe 3 times to, as the recipe says, develop the gluten.
4. I checked the loaf after 35 minutes, and it was perfectly done. If I had waited until the recommended 45-50 minutes, it would have been torched.
Here’s how it looked, after all that.

It had a nice crust and a dense but not heavy texture. It did taste slightly nuttier than regular wheat, and the loaf ends up a bit more golden in color than a regular old brown wheat loaf. It’s not a cheap grain, but it’s definitely tasty. Chef Brad says it makes delicious waffles, too, so I may have to try those next.

One response to “Week 6: Fun with Kamut

  1. What a thoughtful and thorough review of the KAMUT(R) khorasan bread recipe! Your recipe suggestions are most helpful. So pleased to know you enjoyed this tasty grain! In addition to your beautiful loaves, you also got protein and trace mineral levels that you don’t get from “regular” wheat. Many people sensitive to wheat also find that they tolerate KAMUT(R) khorasan, an ancient grain, better than they can “modern” wheat- Yes, KAMUT(R) khorasan is a wheat with gluten; the theory is that the genetic structure present when the grain was first domesticated remains and that it is different from wheat that has been hybridized for high yield, uniform height, disease resistance, etc. And this ancient structure allows for less inflammation and easier digestion.

    In 1990, “KAMUT” was registered as a trademark by the Quinn family in order to support organic farming and preserve an ancient wheat variety, khorasan. Under the KAMUT® Brand name, khorasan wheat must always be grown organically, never be hybridized or modified, and contain high levels of purity and nutrition. Today, Kamut International owns and has registered the KAMUT® trademark in over 40 countries and is responsible for production and marketing of all KAMUT® Brand khorasan wheat throughout the world.

Leave a Reply

