Week 1: So far, so good.

I just checked my bank statement, and in December, I made 3 trips to the neighborhood grocery store, and I spent about $300 total. I also made another $100 trip to Costco last week. (Is there a Costco trip that is less than $100?) I’m pretty sure that I spent most of the money on necessities like food and toilet paper, but it’s also entirely possible that it was 30% candy.
So most of what I bought is still in my house, waiting to be used, so I don’t feel that it was wasted. However, you can imagine how excited I was to go to the grocery store and only buy this stuff.

The total damage: $13.69. Hooray!
I realize the bags of pasta don’t really fit into my “perishables only” restriction, but they were on sale for 79 cents (down from $1.99), so I figured it would be good to snag a couple. Plus I had given myself a limit of $20 per week to spend (just to see if it was realistic), and I was only halfway there with the milk, produce, yogurt, and cheese. Of course, I got home and realized that I have about 20 bags of pasta just like it in the storage room… But still–I went to the grocery store and only spent $13! However, I will need to go back to buy a replacement for the Diet Coke that Carol-Lyn left in my fridge. So let’s call it $15.

Sorry, Carol-Lyn, but I needed it. It was medicinal.

My goal for the next couple of weeks is to get in the habit of planning out meals so Greg can have leftovers to take for lunch. Thankfully, he doesn’t mind eating the same thing for a few days, so that makes things easier. But if anyone has any great suggestions for meal planning, my ears are open!

2 responses to “Week 1: So far, so good.

  1. http://www.melskitchencafe.com is my go-to site for recipes and meal planning. She actually has pre-planned menus that you can just print out with links to all the recipes – and I haven’t tried one that wasn’t outstanding. The other great this is that 99.999% of the things I’ve made freeze really well. So, I’ll make a 9×13 of ____, we’ll have dinner, and then I dish the rest straight into ziplock containers and stick those in the freezer. After about a week of cooking, there’ll be around 30 frozen lunches of various types out in the deep freeze. My husband’s favorites have been the honey lime chicken enchiladas, baked ziti, creamy chicken chili (not a freezer one – but super good) and she has the best cornbread recipe ever. Ok, not to go on forever…. I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

