Hand stitching adventures

I may have mentioned before that I had several responsibilities for girls’ camp this year. One of those responsibilities involved spearheading the matching pajama pants for each girl. Our camp was the “Mulan” camp, so we went with a Chinese printed fabric.

The pants in action for a skit. The pipe cleaners were a unicorn tail.

Well, as it turns out, when you have 22 girls and need about 2 yards of fabric per girl, you have a lot of fabric left over. A LOT. And it is in odd sizes and scraps. So what to do with all of it? I decided I would make each of the girls a barette from a fabric yoyo. They turned out very cute.

But there was still so much fabric left! What else to do? How about a ponytail holder with a fabric pompom?

Great! They were super easy to crank out, but I still have lots of fabric left. So I tried making headbands. They were also very cute, but I didn’t take a picture before I gave them all away. So I’m still trying to come up with ideas of things to do with leftover fabric. Oh, and did I mention that I also used some of the fabric to make small 4″x6″ drawstring gift bags for the girls? We had made them each a simple necklace and put the necklace in the bag.

Anyway, all of this sewing got me in the mood to try out some more hand stitching. I hand stitched this headband out of some cute vintage fabric from Grandma’s basement.

Here it is on my large head.

I think it was almost easier to hand sew the headband than it was to machine sew them (which was how I sewed the Chinese-print headbands). Maybe that’s because I could sit on the couch and watch “The Bachelorette” and hand sew at the same time.

Since I had some of the dot fabric left over, I also made a fabric yoyo from that. Not sure if it will become a barette, brooch, or what. But it’s cute.

I wish all of the fabric from Grandma's basement was this cute.

Finally, since I was on such a yoyo kick, I decided to try making some out of the leftover white silk shantung that was used to make my wedding dress. I turned it into a baby headband with a little nylon headband I had picked up at the Hobby Lobby. I think it’s cute.

Two yoyos and a button.

I still have quite a bit of the silk left, so I’m thinking next time I’ll experiment with coloring the fabric first. I have to say, I kind of enjoy hand sewing more than I expected. Must find some more things to make!

 

Leave a Reply

