Finally living off the fat of the land.

Well, we’ve planted the fat, anyway.

We might be a little bit behind this year, but then again, so is the summer weather. So hopefully it will turn out ok and we’ll have melons to crack open in the dog days ahead.
I’m excited to have plants in the ground, and perhaps one day I’ll figure out the tricks necessary to avoid killing them off. I was like a kid in a candy store at the greenhouse. I wanted to buy every kind of start they had available, but Greg had to remind me that there are only two of us, and we don’t need 6 varieties of pumpkins. What does he know? I did manage to get out of the store with 4 varieties of tomato plants, though. So…call me in a few weeks if you need some.
I’m really trying to learn as much as I can. I have even purchased a couple of gardening books: The Vegetable Gardener’s Bible by Edward C. Smith, and The Essential Guide to Gardening Techniques by Susan Berry. I’ll let you know if I learn anything good.

Target's finest composition notebook

I’m also taking a tip that I keep reading and hearing about, which is to keep a garden journal. I have listed what starts and seeds we bought, the information on when/how to plant, when we planted them, and drew a diagram of our rows. I should probably make a note that it was a crazy year for spring rain and that mid-May (the normal start of planting season for these parts) still felt like winter.
So even though I’m still a total garden poseur, I feel like I’m developing my green thumb already. Heck, I even have a real farmer’s tan for once in my life.

Leave a Reply

