The $13 haircut that cost me $50

Every time my hair gets to a certain length, especially if the weather is starting to turn nice, I get a hankering to chop it off.
Since probably late 2005, I have trusted one stylist and one alone to cut my hair: the lovely and talented Christina. Her location was very convenient when I lived and worked in Provo. But now I live in Lehi, a 20-minute drive away. Oh, and I’m also unemployed, so the idea of shelling out bucks for a haircut (good as it may be) is a bit difficult.
Last week, I was desperate for a haircut. I tried to get Greg to do it, but he refused. I told him that he could just do what I did before I started cutting his hair, which was to watch some how-to videos online and then grab the scissors. He still refused (probably a good thing).
So when I was driving to the grocery store the other day, I noticed a Great Clips next door. “They are cheap,” I thought. “How bad could it be?” Well, you be the judge.

I asked for soft, blended layers, not shredded wheat.

Is it coming across how bad this haircut is?

When the girl at Great Clips was done, my thoughts were a) maybe it just looks that way because they don’t blowdry and style it here and I can fix it at home and b) I think she just ruined my hair. And of course, I determined that there was no fixing it on my own: a professional intervention would be required.
I discovered that there was an Aveda salon just on the other side of the freeway. Thankfully, they had an opening this afternoon. I don’t know that I could have gone another day with uneven, choppy layers on my head.
When I first took the elastic out of my hair, the stylist (Victoria) looked a bit horrified. But she got right to work, and after about 30 minutes, she fixed it. Bless her soul.

No more shredded wheat!


I think it looks better in person than in pictures (just like it looked worse in person than in the pictures before). So if you are ever in north Utah County and have a hair emergency, Victoria at Azalea is your gal.

Leave a Reply

