40-something questions

For some reason, I really like the e-mail forwards that involve answering questions about myself. Not that I particularly like telling all my secrets, but I just like the chance to see how I’m similar to people I like, and (more interestingly) how we differ.
My fantastic cousin Keri send me a list of questions today, and I’m answering them below (with a few of them omitted, because they are dumb questions like, “Who will respond first?” No one cares.).

1. WERE YOU NAMED AFTER ANYONE?
I was named after one of my mom’s best friends. I have always been grateful that she was better friends with Michelle than she was with JoNeal and Fonette.

2. WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME YOU CRIED?
I don’t really remember, but if you ask my husband he will be eager to tell you how I didn’t cry when he proposed to me. (In my defense, I did get teary eyed. Evidently he was hoping for spillage, though.)

3. DO YOU LIKE YOUR HANDWRITING?
I used to like my handwriting, but now it is much sloppier than it once was.

4. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE LUNCH MEAT?
There is nothing better than a good ham, and nothing worse than a bad ham. I am my mother’s daughter.

5. DO YOU HAVE KIDS?
No. Hopefully one of these days. I’m certainly not getting any younger.

6. IF YOU WERE ANOTHER PERSON, WOULD YOU BE FRIENDS WITH YOU?
Now, yes. Me in my teens/twenties? Questionable.

7. DO YOU USE SARCASM?
Definitely, but probably a lot less than I used to.

8. DO YOU STILL HAVE YOUR TONSILS?
They have been gone since I was 3 years old.

9. WOULD YOU BUNGEE JUMP?
No. No. No. I think I would have a panic attack and my heart would explode. You should see footage of me jumping off a bridge into the Salmon River a few years ago. I didn’t think it looked that high, but as soon as I got up there, I couldn’t make myself jump. I climbed down and hung onto a cable below the bridge, knowing that my weakly arm muscles would force me to drop eventually. I was surprised at how long I was able to white-knuckle it, but I finally let go. It still makes me feel anxiety to think about it. Let’s move on.

10. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE CEREAL?
I’ve been eating a lot of Frosted Mini-Wheats lately, but I’m not sure that counts as a favorite. I also really like Cinnamon Toast Crunch.

11. DO YOU UNTIE YOUR SHOES WHEN YOU TAKE THEM OFF?
Almost never.

13. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE ICE CREAM?
Mocha almond fudge. Or bubble gum.

14. WHAT IS THE FIRST THING YOU NOTICE ABOUT PEOPLE?
Probably what they are wearing. Not in a “holy crap that is ugly” kind of way (well, at least not usually). I just notice the colors, patterns, or shapes. I’m like my mom in that what I’m wearing is one of the more consistent details of my memories. Perhaps there’s a connection there.

15. RED OR PINK?
I like both, but I’d probably say I prefer pink.

16. WHAT IS YOUR LEAST FAVORITE THING ABOUT YOURSELF?
My lack of self-motivation and focus. Also: love handles.

17. WHO DO YOU MISS THE MOST?
My grandpa. See previous post.

19. WHAT COLOR PANTS AND SHOES ARE YOU WEARING?
Grey yoga pants and bare feet. Hooray for unemployment!

21. WHAT ARE YOU LISTENING TO RIGHT NOW?
A Listerine commercial warning me about biofilm. BIOFILM? What the WHAT? I think that worrying about cavities and gingivitis are enough without having to worry about something that sounds like trenchmouth.

22. IF YOU WERE A CRAYON, WHAT COLOR WOULD YOU BE?
Blue green.

23. FAVORITE SMELLS?
I love the smell of laundry, rain on sagebrush, and bacon cooking.

24. WHO WAS THE LAST PERSON YOU TALKED TO ON THE PHONE?
The stake camp director alerting me of a meeting tomorrow night.

25. DO YOU LIKE THE PERSON WHO SENT THIS TO YOU?
I love her.

26. FAVORITE SPORTS TO WATCH?
I love watching football, tennis, and gymnastics. Sometimes basketball, sometimes baseball.

27. Hair Color?
Brownish.

28. EYE COLOR?
They are greenish hazelish.

29. DO YOU WEAR CONTACTS?
No.

30. FAVORITE FOOD?
Few things make me happier than a good vegetable samosa or a massaman curry. One of those few things would be a Girl Scout Samoa.

31. SCARY MOVIES OR HAPPY ENDINGS?
I like scary movies if they aren’t gross, and I like happy endings if they aren’t sappy.

32. LAST MOVIE YOU WATCHED?
Greg and I watched I am Legend the other day. I have mixed feelings about it.

33. WHAT COLOR SHIRT ARE YOU WEARING?
Pink.

34. SUMMER OR WINTER?
Definitely summer. I hate being cold, even though there are a lot of things I like to do outside in the winter.

35. HUGS OR KISSES?
I will steal Keri’s answer for this: I like some of both, but it depends who the giver is.

39. WHAT BOOK ARE YOU READING NOW?
I am currently in between books. Maybe it’s time for a library trip. I think my on-deck book is The Gravedigger’s Daughter by Joyce Carol Oates. I read her book We Were the Mulvaneys last year and found it well-written and quite sad, so I have high hopes for this one as well.

40. WHAT IS ON YOUR MOUSE PAD?
The only mouse pad I own has an old 40’s-style cartoon of a woman with one hand raised and the other on a book, and it says “Smart women back up their words.” It was a gift from my brother.

41. WHAT DID YOU WATCH ON TV LAST NIGHT?
Why, “The Biggest Loser,” of course. Whilst I ate half a frozen Snickers bar.

42. FAVORITE SOUND(S).
I like a lot of music. I like the sound of wind chimes on my grandparents’ back porch, but I pretty much hate wind chimes in any other context.

43. ROLLING STONES OR BEATLES?
Not even close. The Beatles.

44. WHAT IS THE FARTHEST YOU HAVE BEEN FROM HOME?
Denmark.

45. DO YOU HAVE A SPECIAL TALENT?
I have a lot of mediocre talents. I’m not sure that any of them quite qualifies as “special.”

So there you have it. Now you know all about me.

Leave a Reply

