It’s possible that I’m a complete idiot.

I was planning to write something today about how I managed to motivate myself to go beyond just showering and unloading the dishwasher today. But as I was getting ready this morning, I noticed this.

My mangled brow.

Yup. Part of my eyebrow is missing. What the crap??? I realize that I don’t have particularly luscious brows to begin with (and I’m not too good at keeping them well groomed), but at least they were relatively symmetrical before.
Initially, I suspected that my recent habit of sleeping on the left side of my face (sinus troubles…) had somehow rubbed out a swath of brow hair. However, I ran my finger over the damaged goods and noticed something even more troubling: stubble.
What the …? Stubble??? I shaved my eyebrow–and I didn’t even notice it at the time?!?
Here’s the deal. I’ve been trimming my own bangs for years now, and it usually goes very well (except for that time a couple of years ago when I learned the hard way not to trim them at 11:30 p.m.). I use a small pair of scissors and a straight-edge razor with a guard on it.
On Saturday afternoon (not even close to 11:30 p.m.) I cut Greg’s hair and then noticed that my bangs were getting too long, so I started snip-snipping away. I don’t recall being particularly distracted at the time, and I don’t recall dropping the razor at any point. But clearly that was the case, and clearly I am lucky to have escaped with both eyeballs still intact.
Perhaps next time I will make the special trip to the salon for the complimentary bangs trim, lest there be any further brow carnage. Here’s hoping it all grows back.

Leave a Reply

