UN-EM-PLOY-MENT! (Clap! Clap! Clap-clap-clap!)

For the past 8 years, I worked as an assistant to a local elected official. It was certainly not a glamorous job, nor was it a job I would consider a “dream job” in any way. However, as I finish up my third week of unemployment since my boss’s term (and hence my job with him) came to an end, I find myself missing it more than I thought I would.

Don’t get me wrong–I certainly expected I would miss my work friends, and I do. But I guess what surprised me is how much I miss having a routine. I find myself not quite knowing what to do with my days, and I feel…adrift, almost. This seems strange to me, since I didn’t exactly find full-time work personally fulfilling and have never had grand career ambitions. But here I am, overwhelmed by free time.

I realize this is nothing to complain about. I just feel challenged by the prospect of creating my own daily structure (which I sincerely feel like I need) while I continue my job search. So I am taking a step by starting this blog. I need to write more anyway, and I hope that this will encourage me to get off my butt and start doing all the things I’ve been meaning to do but didn’t have time for while I was working full time. I also hope that when my husband comes home from work each day and asks about my day, I will have something more interesting to say than, “I managed to shower today, and I unloaded the dishwasher.”

Leave a Reply

